ON THE BUZZER Sports Blog

The TRUTH about Sports

And With the First Pick of the Draft, the Portland Trail Blazers Select:

So the Portland Blazers have decided not to re-sign Greg Oden. The #1 pick in the 2007 draft, Greg Oden is possibly and probably one of the biggest NBA draft busts.  Plagued with injuries, Oden hasn’t amounted to much. He didn’t play his rookie year, 61 games in 2008, 21 in 2009 and so far a big donut for 2010. Remember, the Blazers picked Oden over Kevin Durant in the ’07 draft.  Doh! I would fire everyone in the organization that contributed to that decision. Imagine a Brandon Roy and Kevin Durant combo… OK, now stop imagining because it’s never going to happen.  I gotta be honest with you, I’m a little disappointed with Oden.  I remember him in college, when he broke his arm and still played, shooting freethrows with his left hand. I told myself, this guy’s a soldier. And look at him now, looking like a WWI soldier.  Big men in this league are at a premium. And it’s too bad that this kid couldn’t get it together.  I myself thought that Oden would be better than, gulp, Andrew Bynum. Not that Bynum is that spectacular.  Both injury prone, both far from their peak.  But heck, at least Bynum is only injured 50% of the time.  Oden’s a long distance away from those Ohio State days but maybe if he can get his act together, he can resurrect his career.  Actually, forget resurrecting, let’s hope he can salvage it. I’d give Grant Hill a call. And if I was Oden, I’d give Hakeem Olajuwon a call.  Dwight Howard and Kobe Bryant did.  I’m betting Oden could use some help down low in the post, all 7 feet, 285 lbs of him. Oden’s supposed to be back late November. Let’s cross our fingers. Maybe he’ll be most improved player… Maybe not.

October 31, 2010 - Posted by | NBA BASKETBALL | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

